Friday Link Roundup

But first, some business.

First, I know I haven’t made any substantial posts yet. I’m planning to remedy that soon.

Second, there’s a reason I haven’t identified a clear purpose for this blog in the “About” section. It is this: although I have some ideas about where I want to go with this, I don’t feel like I’ve nailed down a mission statement yet, and at this point I’m not sure that I want to. At this point, I don’t want to follow a narrow purpose, as I’m interested in blogging about social issues, books, art, and other things I find interesting.

Third, on the posting schedule (or current lack thereof): I’d like to follow a regular posting schedule of once each day or, at a minimum, once on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. However, we’ll see how realistic that is as time moves on.

Now, on to links from this week!

Links

A federal judge has decided that IP addresses cannot be identified with the people who pay for the internet service.

Yarn bombing is my favorite kind of graffiti.

The Atlantic has a list of dead authors on Twitter. It’s unfortunate that they’re all white Brits and Americans, but I still think it’s a fun piece.

The teenagers who faced felony charges related to Phoebe Prince’s suicide are now facing only misdemeanors.

The National Day of Prayer is unfortunately still chugging on, and it was observed yesterday.

The School Library Journal has a roundup of book suggestion search engines.

Amigurumi Yoda is the cutest thing I’ve seen today! Except for amigurumi R2-D2. And amigurumi Wicket. (via Neatorama)

Chinese workers in an iPad factory were coerced into signing an agreement not to commit suicide.

Mike Huckabee apparently has no qualms about comparing the Holocaust to abortion or the debt ceiling.

Why it’s important to raise teachers’ salaries.

Somehow, killing fish became an object lesson about why it’s bad to let your friends die without being saved. I don’t even know.

An argument in favor of the President’s release of his long-form birth certificate, which focuses exclusively on politics. To my mind, it isn’t as compelling as this, which discusses why it ultimately did more harm than good.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

